Welcome!

Thank you so much for subscribing — I really appreciate you joining me here.

About Me

If we’re meeting for the first time:  I’m Andrew Liptak, a writer and journalist who’s spent the last decade writing about science fiction, military history, popular culture, and technology. I’m the author of the forthcoming book Cosplay: A History (Saga Press, 2022), and I’ve written for places like Clarkesworld Magazine, Gizmodo, io9, Kirkus Reviews, Lifehacker, Slate, Tor.com, VentureBeat, The Verge, and other publications.


This Newsletter

This newsletter helps make sense of the intersections between science fiction and how it helps us understand the future. You're on the paid list, which means you'll be getting the full list: roundup emails, book lists, reviews, in-depth reported features on the SF/F world and trends, audio of long-form work, in-depth commentary on big breaking news, and occasional short fiction. Your support helps me write and produce this work. It's been featured in The Washington Post and Vulture, and has been reprinted in places like Slate and Lifehacker.

I’d love to get to know you a bit better, as you’ll get this newsletter from me on a somewhat regular basis. If you wouldn’t mind emailing me: what got you interested in this newsletter, and what is it that you’re interested in reading about when it comes to science fiction and writing? I want to make sure that it’s a relevant resource and that it remains interesting.


Housekeeping

If you can’t find the newsletter, check your spam folder. And please mark this address as ‘not spam.’ If the newsletter isn’t in your spam folder, either, you should look in the Promotions tab: please move this newsletter into your “Primary” tab, which will ensure that you’ll get it in a timely fashion. You can always see everything on the website.


Thank you for subscribing! I look forward to what’s to come.

Andrew