Here are the finalists for the 2024 Arthur C. Clarke award

Some of the best works of science fiction from 2023

Here are the finalists for the 2024 Arthur C. Clarke award
Image: Andrew Liptak

The Arthur C. Clarke Awards has announced its list of finalists for this year's awards. The prize is handed out annually (since 1987) to honor the best works of science fiction published in the past year, which are selected by a panel of jurors. Here's the full list of submissions.

Here are this year's finalists:

  • Chain-Gang All-Stars by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
  • The Ten Percent Thief by Lavanya Lakshminarayan
  • In Ascension by Martin MacInnes
  • The Mountain in the Sea by Ray Nayler
  • Some Desperate Glory by Emily Tesh
  • Corey Fah Does Social Mobility by Isabel Waidner

Award Director Tom Hunter said in a statement that “in addition to six new writers joining the Clarke Award’s shortlist ranks, we were delighted to receive submissions from a record-breaking 50 eligible publishing imprints this year. We hope this speaks to the future health and depth of the genre across the UK’s publishing industry even as the task of defining science fiction becomes ever more challenging for our judges!”

This year's judges were Dolly Garland and Stark Holborn from the British Science Fiction Association, Nic Clarke and Tom Dillon from the Science Fiction Foundation, Glyn Morgan from the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival, and Dr. Andrew M. Butler serving in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.

Last year's winner was Venomous Lumpsucker by Ned Beauman, while Deep Wheel Orcadia by Harry Josephine Giles won in 2022 and The Animals in That Country by Laura Jean McKay won in 2021. Other past winners include Tade Thompson, Adrian Tchaikovsky, Emily St. John Mandel, Ann Leckie, China Miéville, and more.

This year's award will be announced on July 24th, 2024. This year's winner will receive a trophy and a cash prize of £2024.