Here are the finalists for the 2024 Nebula Awards

Honoring notable works of SF/F from 2023

Here are the finalists for the 2024 Nebula Awards
Image: Andrew Liptak

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association has announced the finalists for this year's Nebula Awards! The Nebulas are one of SF/F's biggest awards, selected by the organization's members. This is the 59th year the awards have been held, and it's a really solid list.

SFWA will present the awards on Saturday, June 8th during its 2024 Nebula Conference, which will be held in-person in Pasadena, CA and online.

Here are the finalists. I've dropped links where stories are available online:

Nebula Award for Novel

  • The Saint of Bright Doors, Vajra Chandrasekera
  • The Water Outlaws, S.L. Huang
  • Translation State, Ann Leckie
  • The Terraformers, Annalee Newitz
  • Shigidi and the Brass Head of Obalufon, Wole Talabi
  • Witch King, Martha Wells

SFWA notes that Martha Wells' book System Collapse was also nominated, but she declined, citing the acclaim that her Murderbot Diaries series has already garnered.

Nebula Award for Novella

  • The Crane Husband, Kelly Barnhill
  • “Linghun”, Ai Jiang
  • Thornhedge, T. Kingfisher
  • Untethered Sky, Fonda Lee
  • The Mimicking of Known Successes, Malka Older
  • Mammoths at the Gates, Nghi Vo

Nebula Award for Novelette

Nebula Award for Short Story

Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

  • To Shape a Dragon’s Breath, Moniquill Blackgoose
  • The Inn at the Amethyst Lantern, J. Dianne Dotson
  • Liberty’s Daughter, Naomi Kritzer
  • The Ghost Job, Greg van Eekhout

Nebula Award for Game Writing

  • The Bread Must Rise, Stewart C Baker, James Beamon
  • Alan Wake II, Sam Lake, Clay Murphy, Tyler Burton Smith, Sinikka Annala
  • Ninefox Gambit: Machineries of Empire Roleplaying Game, Yoon Ha Lee, Marie Brennan
  • Dredge, Joel Mason
  • Chants of Sennaar, Julien Moya, Thomas Panuel
  • Baldur’s Gate 3, Adam Smith, Adrienne Law, Baudelaire Welch, Chrystal Ding, Ella McConnell, Ine Van Hamme, Jan Van Dosselaer, John Corocran, Kevin VanOrd, Lawrence Schick, Martin Docherty, Rachel Quirke, Ruairí Moore, Sarah Baylus, Stephen Rooney, Swen Vincke

Ray Bradbury Nebula Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Nimona, Robert L. Baird, Lloyd Taylor, Pamela Ribon, Marc Haimes, Nick Bruno, Troy Quane, Keith Bunin, Nate Stevenson
  • The Last of Us: “Long, Long Time”, Neil Druckmann and Craig Mazin
  • Barbie, Greta Gerwig, Noah Baumbach
  • Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves, Jonathan Goldstein, John Francis Daley, Michael Gilio, Chris McKay
  • Spider-ManAcross the Spider-Verse, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, Dave Callaham
  • The Boy and the Heron, Hayao Miyazaki