How to order signed copies of Cosplay: A History

Partnering with Woodstock's Yankee Bookshop

How to order signed copies of Cosplay: A History
Image: Yankee Bookshop 

Hello!

We're at the 44 day mark until Cosplay: A History hits bookshelves on June 28th! I'm extremely excited, and as of now, it's at the printer, and from what I hear, finished copies will be coming off the line by May 19th.

Preorders have been open for a while, but with the release date coming up, I've had a bunch of folks ask how they can order the book and get it signed. We've got a way to do that!

My good friends Kari and Kristian own The Yankee Bookshop in Woodstock, Vermont (the oldest indie bookstore in the state!). Kari and I have known each other for a long time: when I ran a local geek-oriented blog, she and I collaborated on a ton of local SF/F author events, and she's had me down to the store for a couple events over the years. She and Kristian have set up a wonderful store in the years they've owned it, with a phenomenal selection, and it's a no brainer that I'd partner with them.

If you're in the US and want to get Cosplay: A History signed by me around the release date, here's what you need to do:

  1. Head over to their site and add the book to your cart: you can get it as either a trade paperback or audiobook (CDs).
  2. Once you've added it to your cart, click Check Out, and go through the menu options: if you're local, you can pick the book up directly from the store, but if you aren't, fill out the Delivery Information section, go through the shipping, payment, etc.
  3. The last option here is "Order Comments", which is the important part. Use this field to indicate that you'd like the book to be signed, and any details about how you'd like it personalized. My default will be just a signature: please be specific if you want it personalized or if there's anything in particular you'd like in there. If there's a question or if something's unclear, I'll probably just end up signing it without it: I'd rather not mess something up.
  4. Pick up a couple of other books while you're at it! As I said, Yankee has a phenomenal selection of books, and I've got entire lists of books for you!  
  5. Click review order, and complete it. Once the store gets the book in stock, I'll head down to Woodstock, sign them, and the store will ship the books out to you.
  6. You have a bit of a deadline for this: June 19th, but the sooner you do so, the better, what with supply chain issues and whatnot. I'll come down and sign books after that, and once they're in the mail, they should get to you at or around the release date on the 28th.

If you're an international customer, it sounds like they'll be able to accommodate you, but rather than go through that process, they've asked that you email them directly at info@yankeebookshop.com, because it'll be more of a case-by-case basis. Given international shipping times, I can't promise that it'll arrive to you by the June 28th release date.

Other ways to get signed copies:

  • I'll be at Rail City Fan Fest in St. Albans VT on June 25th/26th: it's likely that there'll be someone selling books there, so if you'd like to snag them a couple of days early, I'll be signing them there. (Exact details TBD).
  • Book launch on June 28th at Phoenix Books in Burlington Vermont. They'll have copies on hand and I'll sign whatever they put in front of me if you aren't able to make the event.

As I've noted before, if you preorder, I'll add you to the full paid list for this newsletter and all that entails. Forward me your confirmation and I'll add you to the list.

I'll be back tomorrow with a regular roundup edition of this newsletter. Have a good rest of the day!

Andrew