What I read in 2022

52 books!

What I read in 2022
Image: Andrew Liptak

2022 was quite the year, for events out in the world and for books, and as I've done the last couple of years, I've kept track of the books that I've read, with the goal of hitting 52. I made it this year, which was no sure thing: December 31st was a day of catching up on all those unfinished or short books that I've been meaning to get to over the last couple of months.

Here are my lists for the last couple of years: 2021 (52), 2020 (44), 2019 (42), and 2018 (74).

I'm keeping the same goal for 2023 that I had in 2022: 52 books, or one a week. I've said it in prior years, but my hope is to always devote more time to reading, and I'd like to get through the pile of books that are hanging over from 2022 (and 2021) and through at least some of the books I'm looking forward to in the year ahead.

The sci-fi and fantasy books I’m looking forward to in 2023
19 new reads to read this coming year

The trick is always the same: carve out that reading time and protect it. An unmovable block of 20-30 minutes a day goes an incredibly long way.

If I have any other reading goals for 2023, it's to read more widely than before. This year felt like I did that more than before: I picked up a wider range of books, particularly nonfiction, and I've got a nice stack of books about science, history, technology, and society that I'm hoping to make a dent into.


Without further ado, here's what I picked up and finished in 2022:

  1. Elder Race by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Review)
  2. The Library: A Fragile History by Andrew Pettegree and Arthur der Weduwen
  3. Yuanyuan's Bubbles by Liu Cixin, Valérie Mangin and illustrated by Steven Dupré
  4. Storyteller: Tales of Life and Music by David Grohl
  5. The Alchemy of Us: How Humans and Matter Transformed One Another by Ainissa Ramirez
  6. No Gods, No Monsters by Cadwell Turnbull
  7. Noor by Nnedi Okorafor (Review)
  8. Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup by John Carreyrou
  9. The Library of the Dead by T.L. Huchu (Review)
  10. Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby
  11. Age of Ash by Daniel Abraham (Review)
  12. The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi (Review)
  13. Batman: Year One by Frank Miller and David Mazzucchelli
  14. Devil House by John Darnielle
  15. Redshirts by John Scalzi (Review)
  16. Migrations by Charlotte McConaghy
  17. The Golden Swift by Lev Grossman (Review)
  18. Star Wars: Brotherhood by Mike Chen (Review)
  19. Sweep of Stars by Maurice Broaddus
  20. The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd (Review)
  21. January Fifteenth by Rachel Swirsky (Review)
  22. Slaying the Dragon: A Secret History of Dungeons & Dragons by Ben Riggs
  23. Up Against It by Laura J. Mixon
  24. Mickey7 by Edward Ashton (Review)
  25. Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel
  26. Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin
  27. Those Turbulent Sons of Freedom: Ethan Allen's Green Mountain Boys and the American Revolution by Christopher Wren
  28. Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  29. Pictures by J.R.R. Tolkien
  30. Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
  31. Machinehood by S.B. Divya
  32. On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King
  33. Phasers on Stun! How the Making (and Remaking) of Star Trek Changed the World by Ryan Britt
  34. Secret Identity by Alex Segura
  35. The Mountain in the Sea by Ray Nayler
  36. Even Though I Knew The End by C.L. Polk
  37. Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldtree (Review)
  38. Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands by Kate Beaton
  39. Daredevil: The Man Without Fear by Frank Miller and John Romita Jr.  
  40. The World We Make by N.K. Jemisin
  41. The Magicians: Alice's Story by Lev Grossman, Lilah Sturges, and Pius Bak
  42. At the Mountains of Madness by H.P. Lovecraft
  43. Star Wars: Shadows of the Sith by Adam Christopher
  44. Confidence Man: The Making of Donald Trump and the Breaking of America by Maggie Haberman
  45. Children of Memory by Adrian Tchaikovky
  46. The Amazing Alligator Girl by Kristin Dearborn
  47. Saga Volume 7 by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples
  48. Saga Volume 8 by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples
  49. Saga Volume 9 by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples
  50. All the Horses of Iceland by Sarah Tolmie
  51. A Prayer for the Crown-Shy by Becky Chambers
  52. The Art of John Harris, Volume 2: Into the Blue by John Harris

I'll have a list of my favorites headed your way tomorrow, but in the meantime, what did you read in 2022? What were your favorites, and what were the ones that you didn't finish?

Andrew